Four Browns named finalists for NFL honours

BEREA, Ohio (WKBN) – Four Cleveland Browns were named finalists for 2023 Associated Press Awards, which will be announced at the NFL Honors on Thursday, Feb. 8 on WKBN-27.


Head Coach Kevin Stefanski is a finalist for AP Coach of the Year, after leading the Browns to a record of 11-6 and the franchise’s first trip to the playoffs since 2020. The 11 regular season wins also tied for the second-most in Browns’ history, trailing just the 1986 team’s 12 wins.


Defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz is a finalist for AP Assistant Coach of the Year. Under his watch, the Browns defense led the NFL in total defense, allowing just 270.2 yards per game.


Defensive end Myles Garrett is a finalist for AP Defensive Player of the Year. He led the Browns with 14 sacks and finished tied for seventh in the NFL.


Quarterback Joe Flacco is a finalist for the AP Comeback Player of the Year. In five regular-season games, Flacco passed for 1,616 yards and 13 touchdowns.


He led the Browns to a 4-1 record as a starter and became the first player in NFL history to record at least 250 passing yards and two touchdown passes in each of his first five games with a team.

A complete list of categories and finalists are listed below.


AP Most Valuable Player

Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills quarterback

Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Ravens quarterback

Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers running back

Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys quarterback

Brock Purdy, San Francisco 49ers quarterback


AP Defensive Player of the Year

DaRon Bland, Dallas Cowboys cornerback

Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas Raiders defensive end

Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns defensive end

Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys linebacker

T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker


AP Offensive Player of the Year

Tyreek Hill, Miami Dolphins wide receiver

Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Ravens quarterback

CeeDee Lamb, Dallas Cowboys wide receiver

Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers running back

Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys quarterback

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year

Jahmyr Gibbs, Detroit Lions running back

Sam LaPorta, Detroit Lions tight end

Puka Nacua, Los Angeles Rams wide receiver

Bijan Robinson, Atlanta Falcons running back

C.J. Stroud, Houston Texans quarterback


AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

Will Anderson, Houston Texans defensive end

Jalen Carter, Philadelphia Eagles defensive tackle

Joey Porter Jr., Pittsburgh Steelers cornerback

Kobie Turner, Los Angeles Rams defensive tackler

Devon Witherspoon, Seattle Seahawks cornerback


AP Comeback Player of the Year

Joe Flacco, Cleveland Browns quarterback

Damar Hamlin, Buffalo Bills safety

Baker Mayfield, Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback

Matthew Stafford, Los Angeles Rams quarterback

Tua Tagovailoa, Miami Dolphins quarterback


AP Coach of the Year

Dan Campbell, Detroit Lions

John Harbaugh, Baltimore Ravens

DeMeco Ryans, Houston Texans

Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland Browns

AP Assistant Coach of the Year

Ben Johnson, Detroit Lions offensive coordinator

Mike Macdonald, Baltimore Ravens defensive coordinator

Todd Monken, Baltimore Ravens offensive coordinator

Jim Schwartz, Cleveland Browns defensive coordinator

Bobby Slowik, Houston Texans offensive coordinator

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.