FSU head coach Mike Norvell won the 2023 Dodd Trophy

Mike Norvelland’s impact on the Seminoles has been recognized both on and off the field.

   Florida State Seminoles Florida State University coach Mike Norvell has been named the winner of the 2023 Dodd Award, given to the coach who has created a program that demonstrates excellence on and off the field, he announced Friday. “I am very happy to receive the Dodd Trophy this year,” Norvell said. “The values ​​of athletic success, academic excellence and the qualities shown by this award are in line with the purpose of our program. These qualities have been shown in very difficult situations so far, but I am very proud of the response of our team. all the time .

   It is an honor to be recognized like this. I am truly grateful for the support we provide here at Florida State to develop young people to make an impact on the field, in the classroom, and in their communities. Everyone from chairman McCullough to the board chaired by Peter Collins to athletic director Michael Alford agreed with these goals and that really helped us move forward. I want to thank our entire football team and their efforts to help us do well, and also thank our players who accepted the challenge of striving to do their best in all activities.

   “This is a fitting tribute to the team, and Florida State University is honored to receive this award.” Norvell is only the second Florida State coach to win the Dodd Trophy, which has been awarded annually since 1976 to the coach of the team that enjoyed a successful football season and emphasized the importance of excellence, knowledge and character. Hall of Fame coach Bobby Bowden won the award in 1980, and Norvell’s impressive performance this season makes Florida State the eighth school to win the Dodd Trophy multiple times.

   After leading the Seminoles to a 13-0 record and an appearance in the Capital One Orange Bowl, Norvell was named ACC Coach of the Year, AFCA Region 1 Coach of the Year and one of eight finalists for Paul. Bear,” Bryant Coach of the Year, one of 12 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and one of 14 finalists for the Maxwell Football Club George Munger Coach of the Year Award.

   Now in his fourth season at Florida State, Norvell led the 2023 Seminoles to their seventh undefeated season in program history, a win over No. 1 Louisville. They face sixth place Georgia. Norvell is the first FSU coach to win the Coach of the Year award since Bobby Bowden in 1997. Norvell finished with the third 13-win season in Florida State history, including being on the 2013 national championship team and a 2014 College Football Playoff semifinalist.

   Norvell is the sixth ACC coach since 2000 to lead his team to an undefeated record in conference play. Norvell’s teams set a program record 25 All-ACC selections, including one at each position. Jordan Travis is fourth this season. FSU’s eight first-team selections were the most in the conference, and Florida State also led the ACC with second- and third-team honors.

   During the bowl season, the Seminoles led the nation in opposing tight ends, pass breakups, passes defensed and fewest turnovers, ranked second in pass coverage, third in sacks, fourth in passing yards of touchdowns allowed and third down. . Net clearance, sixth in scoring defense.

   FSU leads the ACC in scoring offense with 37.0 points per game and blocks 15.9 points per game. No. 4 Florida State will play No. 6 Georgia on Saturday at 4 p.m. at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens. The game will be broadcast by ESPN.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.